Self Care Is Not Optional

If you would have told me 3 years ago that I wouldn’t even have time to pee by myself, I would have told you to kick rocks. I was the queen of solitude and taking my alone time whenever I felt like it. 90 minute showers were no stranger to me. An hour to do my hair was no big deal. Now, I am lucky to find enough time to shave my legs… Twice a month.

Everything minute of my day is spent either talking,teaching, observing, cooking, cleaning or nursing. Oh and there is that little elusive thing called sleep, I occasionally get to enjoy. Don’t get me wrong, I am the lucky one because I get to watch each step and change that Ro makes. I get to soak up all of his hugs, kisses and cuddles. 

Asking for help (or anything) has never been something I am good at or like to do. Not that I have too much pride, but that I feel as though I am not entitled to do so. That it is selfish of me to ask someone else to take care of my child or help with my house. But let me tell you what I learned. It’s not selfish to care about yourself. To be centered in yourself and who you are will make you better able to care for your child(ren) and grow as a person. 

It is still hard for me to ask for help, but I am learning it is a crucial point to being a good caring mother.

I mean who can be totally gentle with out a little alone wine time. (;

Leave a Reply

